Animal Research Ethics Committees (ARECs) Registered with the National Health Research Ethics Council (NHREC)

Acronyms	Full names	Registration status
Afrivet-AEWC	Afrivet Animal Ethics and Welfare Committee	Temporary suspended
Clinvet-IACUC	Clinvet Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee	Registered
Deltamune-EC	Deltamune Ethics Committee	Registered
LAREC	Liselo Research Ethics Committee	Registered
MRUAEC	Malelane Research Unit Animal Ethics Committee	Registered
NMU-REC-A	Nelson Mandela University Research Ethics Committee (Animal)	Registered
NWU-AnimCareREC	North-West University Animal Care, Health and Safety Research Ethics Committee	Registered
NWU-AnimProdREC	North-West University Animal Production Sciences Research Ethics Committee	Registered
RU-AREC	Rhodes University Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered
SAMRC-ECRA	South African Medical Research Council Ethics Committee for Research on Animals	Registered
SU-REC-ACU	Stellenbosch University Research Ethics Committee: Animal Care and Use	Registered
TUT-AREC	Tshwane University of Technology Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered
UCT-FHS-AEC	University of Cape Town Faculty of Health Sciences Animal Ethics Committee	Registered
UFH-AREC	University of Fort Hare Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered
UKZN-AEC	University of KwaZulu-Natal Animal Ethics Committee	Registered
UL-AREC	University of Limpopo Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered
UP-AEC	University of Pretoria Animal Ethics Committee	Registered
UFS-AREC	University of the Free State Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered
UWC-AREC	University of the Western Cape Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered
Wits-AREC	University of the Witwatersrand Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered
Unisa- CAES- AREC	University of South Africa College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Animal Research Ethics Committee	Registered