



MEDIA STATEMENT

To: Editors & Health Journalists Issued by: Department of Health

Date: 11 December 2024

HEALTH MINISTER MOTSOALEDI ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENT OF THE MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE ON FOODBORNE ILLNESS

On 15 November 2024, in addressing the nation after fatalities that claimed the lives of school children in the country, President Cyril Ramaphosa, among others, indicated that the Minister of Health would establish a Ministerial Committee to provide expert advice, guidance, and recommendations to the minister and government to enable informed and evidence-based decision making.

The team was appointed in the first week of December 2024 and held their first meeting today to develop their plan of action.

It is also envisaged that the work of the MAC will inform the government of any need for policy refinement, development and advice on the practicality and effectiveness of food safety interventions in the country to address the needs of communities.

The Minister is therefore pleased to announce a team of distinguished doctors, scientists and academics that has been appointed and whose names appear below:

	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Prof Leslie London(Chairperson)	Head of Public Medicine in the School of Public Health and Family Medicine at the University of Cape Town.
2	Dr Thakadu Mamashela	Chairperson of National Forensic Pathology Service Advisory Committee, Specialist Forensic Pathologist and Head of Clinical Department – Limpopo Forensic Pathology
3	Ms Kagiso Tsatsi	Head of Forensic Chemistry Laboratory at the National Health Laboratory Services.
4	Prof Ziyaad Dangor	Research Director at Wits Vaccines and Infectious Diseases Analytics(VIDA). He is also a Paediatric Pulmonologist in the Department of Paedatrics and Child Health
5	Prof Cindy Stephen	Director of Poisons Information Centre at the Red Cross Children's Hospital as well a Member Department of Paediatrics and

		Child Health at the University of Cape Town.
6	Prof Sithembiso Velapi	A Neonatologist and Associate Professor at Wits University, he is also Head of Paediatrics and Child Health at Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic Hospital
7	Prof Saloshni Naidoo	Head Department of Public Health Medicine at the University of Kwazulu-Natal
8	Dr Jody Rusch	A Chemical Pathologist and serves as a Senior Pathologist with the National Health Laboratory Services and the University of Cape Town.
9	Prof Paulina van Zyl	Head of Department of Pharmacology at the University of the Free State and Universitas Academic Hospital
10	Prof Koleka Mlisana	Medical Biologist and Chief Executive Officer at the National Health Laboratory Services.
11	Dr Tobius Poswa	Environment Health Practitioner. Member of the inter-provincial Environmental Health Forum and Co-ordinator of All Environmental Health Training Institutions in South Africa
12	Dr Denise Parris	Specialist Paediatric Pulmonologist specialising in Paediatric Allergies, Asthma, Immunology, Neonatal Respiratory Diseases, Lung Problems in Babies and Infant Feeding
13	Dr David Munisi	General Medical Practitioner who also serves as Prison Medical Officer for the Devon and Heidelberg Prisons
14	Dr Natalie Mayet	Occupational Health Physician and Deputy Director of the National Institute for Communicable Diseases responsible for Surveillance of Notifiable Medical Conditions
15	Dr Angelique Coetzee	Appointed as Vice-Chair for the First Medical Advisory Committee Parole Board. Served as Leading Forensic Investigator for Rendico, reporting to Medscheme on Dialysis and Acting as General Manager at South African Medical Association.

For more information and media enquiries, please contact:

Mr Sello Lediga National Spokesperson 0823539859 Sello.Lediga@health.gov.za